Meet the Instructor

Fourteen years and kicking

amy picHello, and welcome to one of my favorite classes in the Elliott School of Communication. I’ve been teaching this class since Fall 2007, and haven’t missed a semester since. It’s a lot of learning by doing — which means it’s not a class you can skip, and it’s a class that keeps me busy as well. If you’re constantly turning stuff in, it means I’m constantly grading. It’s a small price for us all to pay in exchange for you gaining hands-on, marketable, useful skills.

I juggle several roles in addition to teaching. I’m in my fifth year advising The Sunflower student newspaper. News never stops, and neither do the “situations” that need my attention involving the newspaper and its editors. During the pandemic, I helped launch the Wichita Journalism Collaborative — a coalition of seven local media partners and three other community partners, with a mission of supporting and enhancing local journalism. It’s a lofty project that has kept me plenty busy and glued to my home office chair/desk.

A Kansas native, I grew up near Bazine, Kan. — somewhere out there between Hays, Great Bend and Dodge City. I have an undergraduate degree from Fort Hays State University and a master’s from Kansas State. At both schools, I worked for the student newspaper — writing, shooting photos, editing and designing. Before coming to Wichita State in 2007, I worked at The Wichita Eagle as a visual journalist and design editor for five years.

IMG_726215781488_10157900207300277_5584839169306155388_nI live in Derby, where my husband, Adam, is the director of bands at Derby High. We have two sons. Kyle is 16 and is a junior in high school. He’s a musician and a writer (He’s editor-in-chief of his high school newspaper this year!). He’s creative, and he’s a video-game-playing kid who thinks he wants to be a game designer or a writer some day. He’s smart and funny, but quiet as a mouse if he doesn’t know you. Noah is 13, and he loves people and sports. All people. All sports. Basketball and baseball are his favorites, but for fun, you can find him playing: tennis, ping-pong, air hockey, pickle ball, soccer, football and golf. When he grows up, he wants to play in the NBA (Oklahoma City Thunder) or in the major leagues (KC Royals).

I love my job. Not only do I get to teach my hobbies (design, photography, multimedia and storytelling), but also I get to meet and work with more than a hundred awesome college students a year. When I’m not teaching/grading or keeping up with my two boys, I enjoy my book club and coffee dates with friends, live music, art and studying craft beer.